Day 5 – Back on track

As much as we know this is true, why must we, I, learn this everyday.  You never know what you can do until you try. Today I almost let my selfconsciousness get the best of me.  I was telling my good buddy P today that I wanted to run, but had planned to only walk because I felt that people would be staring at my fat butt bouncing up and down and because of my turtle trot.  Several times I have experienced exercising when the general public was around and was mocked.  Needless to say I think that now when I workout in public when people are just hanging out instead of exercising, I fear being mocked.  Thinking back, those idiots probably had nothing going for them.  It hasn’t happened in years, but I just realized today that I almost skipped my workout because I knew that there would be many people out on the loop this evening working out. No one would probably notice me, because they would too concerned with trying to get a good workout.  But today my confidence was the size of a grain of dirt.  Anyway, I did skip the loop and opted for the more shady less crowded park.   Once I greached the path I walked and let a very athletic jogger fly past me.  I was like,”don’t even try running.  You’re not a runner. Who are you kidding?”  Then I said to myself, “You are stopping you.  You’re not a failure because you get winded after a few minutes. Just run a few minutes.”   So, I started a slow jog.  I could feel when five minutes passed because my head said to stop, but physically I felt fine.  At ten minutes, I still breathed normally and my legs felt relaxed.  I bargained with myself to run past these two girls walking ahead of me.  When I glided past them, I was slight winded, but still felt like I could do more.  Before I knew it I had run a half mile.  Then I realized how silly I was imaging being teased and not running because of this.  I ran for 30 minutes today.  I was having a Wonder Woman Day.  I could not have been prouder of myself.

Leave a comment